802.11. The IEEE standard that specifies a carrier sense Media Access Control
and physical layer specifications for 1- and 2-Mbps WLANs.
802.11a. The IEEE standard operating in the 5-GHz license-free frequency band,
providing data rates up to 54 Mbps.
802.11b. The IEEE standard for the physical layer for 2.4-GHz DSSS WLANs
with data rates up to 11 Mbps.
802.11d. The IEEE standard enabling WLAN client devices to determine what
regulatory domain the AP is located in and to automatically change parameters to
the associated regulatory domain requirements.
802.11e. The IEEE proposed standard for link-layer quality of service for 802.11
802.11f. The IEEE proposed standard protocol for AP-to-AP roaming.
802.11g. The IEEE standard operating in the 2.4-GHz license-free frequency
band, providing data rates over 20 Mbps.
802.11h. The IEEE standard for controlling transmitter power and providing
dynamic selection of frequency (channels) to avoid interference to and from radar
and navigational systems.
802.11i . The IEEE standard for link-layer security for 802.11 networks.
802.1Q. Specification for tagging packets with VLAN.
802.1x. The IEEE standard for port-based network access control capability.
Uses the EAP framework for authentication of users using a variety of methods.
802.3. The IEEE standard for wired Ethernet topologies. This specification
encompasses Ethernet, Fast Ethernet, and Gigabit Ethernet today.
802.3af. The IEEE standard for supplying power over the Ethernet cable.

Get 802.11 Wireless Network Site Surveying and Installation now with the O’Reilly learning platform.

O’Reilly members experience books, live events, courses curated by job role, and more from O’Reilly and nearly 200 top publishers.