Chapter 8. IOS Switches

This chapter covers the following subjects:

• IEEE 802.1X, Extensible Authentication Protocol (EAP) and EAP over LANs (EAPOL)

• Different Types of EAP Available

• Configuration Examples Based on Some EAP Types Available for ACS 4.2 and ACS 5.1

This chapter examines the IEEE 802.1X standard and the components involved in it that can be used to secure the LAN or wireless LAN (WLAN) infrastructure. The chapter essentially examines Layer 2 security and how Access Control Server (ACS) will help secure the LAN and WLAN infrastructure. This chapter focuses on LAN infrastructure, as Chapter 9, “Access Points,” focuses on the WLAN infrastructure.

Introduction to IEEE 802.1X, EAP, and EAPOL

802.1X is an IEEE standard for media-level ...

Get AAA Identity Management Security now with O’Reilly online learning.

O’Reilly members experience live online training, plus books, videos, and digital content from 200+ publishers.