Appendix B

Knowledge Areas, Tasks, and Elements


  • Define the terms knowledge area, task, and element.
  • Review the six knowledge areas.
  • Outline the tasks and elements of each knowledge area.

Appendix B contains an outline of the six BABOK® Guide knowledge areas, their tasks, and the elements making up those tasks. This appendix is intended to be used as an orientation device and a study aid as you prepare for your CBAP® or CCBA certification exam. Appendix B also summarizes the intent of each knowledge area so you can refresh your memory and practice describing them.

Review the Six Knowledge Areas

Knowledge areas divide what business analysts need to know and how they perform their tasks into six common buckets. The ...

Get CBAP®/CCBA™ Certified Business Analysis, Study Guide now with the O’Reilly learning platform.

O’Reilly members experience live online training, plus books, videos, and digital content from nearly 200 publishers.