Getting Started: Essential Knowledge

In this chapter you will

•  Identify components of TCP/IP computer networking

•  Understand basic elements of information security

•  Understand incident management steps

•  Identify fundamentals of security policies

•  Identify essential terminology associated with ethical hacking

•  Define ethical hacker and classifications of hackers

•  Describe the five stages of ethical hacking

•  Define the types of system attacks

•  Identify laws, acts, and standards affecting IT security

A few weeks ago my ISP point-of-presence router, comfortably nestled in the comm-closet-like area I’d lovingly built just for such items of IT interest, decided it had had enough of serving the humans and went rogue on ...

Get CEH Certified Ethical Hacker All-in-One Exam Guide, Third Edition, 3rd Edition now with the O’Reilly learning platform.

O’Reilly members experience live online training, plus books, videos, and digital content from nearly 200 publishers.