Linux information

Although Linux is not mentioned in the exam syllabus, the Security+ is vendor neutral and the following commands may help you determine what is being asked:

  • Admin accounts: Root top level
  • sudo: Admin
  • su: Lower admin
  • Kill : Stops applications
  • Ls : List
  • Grep : Search
  • Pwd : Parent Working Directory
  • Chmod : Changes permissions
  • Mkdir: Make directory
  • SetFACL : Used to set permission on a given file
  • Ifconfig: Equivalent of ipconfig
  • IpTables: Firewall rules
  • Chroot: Change root directory
  • Root directories: /bin, /boot, /dev, /etc, /home, /mnt, /sbin, and /usr

Get CompTIA Security+ Certification Guide now with O’Reilly online learning.

O’Reilly members experience live online training, plus books, videos, and digital content from 200+ publishers.