Mandatory access control

Mandatory Access Control (MAC) is based on the classification level of the data. This looks at how much damage they could cause to the interest of the nation. These are as follows:

  • Top secret: Highest level, exceptional grave damage
  • Secret: Cause serious damage
  • Confidential: Cause damage
  • Restricted: Undesirable effects

Examples of Mandatory Access Control (MAC):

Data types Classification
Nuclear energy project Top secret
Research and development Secret
Ongoing legal issues Confidential
Government payroll Restricted
  • Custodian: The custodian is the person who stores and manages classified data.
  • Security administrator: The security administrator is the person who gives access to classified data once ...

Get CompTIA Security+ Certification Guide now with O’Reilly online learning.

O’Reilly members experience live online training, plus books, videos, and digital content from 200+ publishers.