Schloss Nymphenburg

To celebrate the birth of their son in 1664, the Elector Ferdinand Maria and his wife Henrietta Adelaide of Savoy commissioned Agostino Barelli to build a summer palace to the west of Munich. The wings and annexe buildings were added from 1701 onwards. The historic gardens to the rear of the palace beckon for a pleasant stroll. Over the course of 300 years, the original ornamental garden was expanded into a vast ensemble comprising a Baroque garden, a system of canals, and small pavilions scattered throughout the park.

Schloss Nymphenburg

  • Tram 12, 16,17, Bus 51

  • 089 179 08 0

Schloss, pavilions & Marstallmuseum

  • Open Apr–mid-Oct: 9am–6pm daily; mid-Oct–Mar: 10am–4pm daily

  • closed 1 Jan; Shrove Tue; 24, 25 & 31 Dec

  • Adm: (includes ...

Get DK Eyewitness Top 10 Travel Guide: Munich now with O’Reilly online learning.

O’Reilly members experience live online training, plus books, videos, and digital content from 200+ publishers.