Musée d’Orsay

This wonderful collection covers a variety of art forms from the 1848–1914 period, including a superb Impressionists section. Its setting, in a converted railway station, is equally impressive. Built in 1900, in time for the Paris Exposition, the station was in use until 1939, when it was closed and largely ignored, bar its use as the location for Orson Welles’ 1962 film, The Trial. It was later used as a theatre and as auction rooms, and in the mid-1970s was considered for demolition. In 1977, the Paris authorities decided to save the imposing station building by converting it into this striking museum.

  • 1 rue de la Légiond’Honneur, 75007

  • 01 40 49 48 14

  • www.musee-orsay.fr

  • Open 9:30am–6pm Tue–Sun (Thu till 9:45pm); closed 1 Jan, ...

Get DK Eyewitness Top 10 Travel Guides: Paris now with O’Reilly online learning.

O’Reilly members experience live online training, plus books, videos, and digital content from 200+ publishers.