The Six Tastesof Ayurveda

In Ayurveda, nutrients are not described in numbers or letters. They’re measured in six tastes: sweet, sour, salty, bitter, astringent, and pungent. When you eat a diet filled with the six tastes, you naturally find balance in all three Doshas.

vata imbalance

Include more sweet, sour, and salty foods

pitta imbalance

Include more sweet, bitter, and astringent foods

kapha imbalance

Include more bitter, pungent, ...

Get Eat Feel Fresh now with O’Reilly online learning.

O’Reilly members experience live online training, plus books, videos, and digital content from 200+ publishers.