A few techniques and tools are worth mentioning when using the Relationships window. I'll get to those in a moment. But let me first emphasize that this window can generate what could be the most misinterpreted message in Access.
When you close the Relationships window after making changes, Access asks if you want to save them (see Figure 4.13). This question applies only to the layout changes you've made—the field lists you have added, deleted, or moved around. It has no effect whatsoever on the relationships you created and the edits you made on them. These were saved as you opened and used the various dialog boxes.