There are many different types of multiple-choice question. Here are a few examples of the different types of question you may encounter.


The ‘standard’ question is a simple ‘stem’ with four ‘response alternatives’. A typical examination paper will have more ‘standard’ questions than other types. Standard questions are considered less confusing to answer than the other types of question, and they are (usually) shorter.

EXAMPLE 3 How many main functional areas are described in the Service Operation lifecycle phase?

A 6

B 5

C 4

D 3

As we have already seen, simply choose the correct answer.

Standard negative

The ‘standard’ question above could be referred to as ‘standard positive’. Another type of ...

Get IT Service Management Foundation Practice Questions now with O’Reilly online learning.

O’Reilly members experience live online training, plus books, videos, and digital content from 200+ publishers.