ITIL Foundation Essentials: The exam facts you need

Book description

The exam facts you need to pass your ITIL® Foundation Exam

ITIL® Foundation Essentials is a distillation of critical information - no waffle or padding - just exactly what you need to understand how to pass the ITIL Foundation exam. Aimed at self-study candidates, ITIL community training delegates, itSMF/BCS members and V2 Foundation Certificate holders, who have yet to take an upgraded exam, this pocket guide is fully aligned with the ITIL 2011 core volumes.

Project managers, who are looking to expand their qualifications, and IT contractors or consultants, who don't want to take time out from their day jobs to attend a course, will also find this pocket guide an essential companion to their studies and education.

The complete ITIL Foundation syllabus

THE essential companion for those studying the ITIL Foundation syllabus, the pocket guide covers key areas including:

  • A basic introduction to ITIL and a description of service classifications (core, enabling, enhancing) and an outline of internal and external services.
  • A point-by-point summary of the purpose, objectives, scope and value of the five stages of the service lifecycle that form the ITIL core; from strategy and design, through to transition, operation and continual service improvement (CSI).
  • Separate sections in the guide are dedicated to describing ITIL key concepts and terminology (including ""stakeholders"" and ""processes, functions and roles"") and throughout the pocket guide the wide range of 3, 4 and 5 letter ITIL acronyms (including PBA, FMITS, BRM, SLM, OLA, SLR, VBF, ITSCM, SACM, RADM) are expanded and explained.
  • A brief summary of the ITIL qualification scheme and the Foundation exam.

Prepare for the ITIL Foundation exam

ITIL is best practice for IT Service Management, developed by the UK government and globally adopted in both the public and private sectors. ITIL is not prescriptive, but rather it is a framework that organisations can adopt and adapt.

The Foundation Certificate is the entry-level ITIL qualification, which offers candidates a general awareness of the key elements, concepts and terminology used in the ITIL service lifecycle.

The aforementioned elements, concepts and terminology of ITIL have been condensed into this pocket guide to provide candidates with the essential facts they need in order to pass the ITIL Foundation exam.


Table of contents

  1. Cover
  2. Title
  3. Copyright
  4. Foreword
  5. Preface
  6. About The Author
  7. Acknowledgements
  8. Contents
  9. Introduction
  10. Chapter 1: Introducing ITIL
  11. Chapter 2: Services
    1. Service classifications
    2. Internal and external services
    3. Types of service
  12. Chapter 3: Service Management
    1. Service management as a professional practice
    2. IT service management
  13. Chapter 4: Stakeholders
  14. Chapter 5: Processes, Functions, Roles
    1. Processes
    2. Functions
    3. Roles
  15. Chapter 6: The Service Lifecycle
    1. Service Strategy
    2. Service Design
    3. Service Transition
    4. Service Operation
    5. Continual Service Improvement (CSI)
  16. Chapter 7: Service Strategy
    1. Concept: Value creation
    2. Concept: Utility and warranty
    3. Concept: Risk management
    4. Concept: Governance
    5. Concept: Patterns of Business Activity (PBA)
    6. Service Strategy processes
  17. Chapter 8: Service Design
    1. Model: 4 Ps
    2. Concept: Five major aspects of Service Design
    3. Service Design processes
  18. Chapter 9: Service Transition
    1. Service Transition processes
  19. Chapter 10: Service Operation
    1. Concept: The importance of communication
    2. Service Operation processes
    3. Service Operation functions
  20. Chapter 11: Continual Service Improvement (CSI)
    1. The CSI approach
    2. Measurement
    3. The Deming Cycle
    4. The Seven-Step Improvement Process
    5. The CSI register
  21. Chapter 12: Roles
    1. Process owner
    2. Process manager
    3. Process practitioner
    4. Service owner
    5. The RACI Model
  22. Chapter 13: Service Management Automation
    1. Planning for automation
  23. Chapter 14: Service Management Skills and Training
  24. Chapter 15: The ITIL Qualification Scheme
  25. Chapter 16: The Foundation Exam
  26. ITG Resources

Product information

  • Title: ITIL Foundation Essentials: The exam facts you need
  • Author(s):
  • Release date: September 2012
  • Publisher(s): IT Governance Publishing
  • ISBN: 9781849284011