ITIL Lifecycle Essentials

Book description

Taking you through the ITIL Foundation exam and beyond. ITIL is the best practice methodology for IT Service Management, developed by the UK government and globally adopted in both the public and private sectors. ITIL Lifecycle Essentials covers all of the vital material required for the entry-level ITIL Foundation Certificate, which gives candidates a solid grounding in the key elements, concepts and terminology used in the ITIL service lifecycle.

The book includes:

  • An introduction to ITIL and why it is considered to be best practice for IT Service Management.
  • An overview of the key components of a service management capability, including; processes, functions and generic roles.
  • Specific chapters then cover the purpose, objectives, scope and value of the five phases of the service lifecycle that form the ITIL core; from strategy and design, through to transition, operation and continual service improvement (CSI).
  • A summary of the ITIL qualification scheme and the Foundation level, together with some guidance on preparing for the exam.

The essential link between your ITIL qualification and the real-world. This book doesn't just cover the information required to pass the foundation exam, but goes beyond this in providing practical guidance for when newly qualified practitioners enter the real-world. By addressing processes and concepts not covered in the syllabus, this book guides practitioners as they go beyond Foundation level. It features practical tips on using service management and, for each process, the author adds to the theory with lessons from her own real-world experience.

The book is ideal for self-study candidates, training delegates and itSMF/BCS members, and V2 Foundation Certificate holders who have not yet taken the upgraded exam. Project managers looking to broaden their qualifications will find it a helpful companion to their studies and a practical aid for their professional development. Contractors or consultants with limited study time will also find this book essential to their part-time education.

The Vital ITIL title - before, during and after your ITIL education.


Table of contents

  1. Cover
  2. Title
  3. Copyright
  4. Foreword
  5. Preface
  6. About the Author
  7. Acknowledgements
  8. Contents
  9. Chapter 1: Introducing Service Management
    1. Why IT service management?
    2. Service
    3. Service management
    4. IT service management
    5. Stakeholders
    6. Customers
    7. Types of service provider
    8. Why ITIL?
  10. Chapter 2: Key Concepts and Roles
    1. Processes
    2. Functions
    3. Roles
  11. Chapter 3: The Service Lifecycle
    1. Service Strategy
    2. Service Design
    3. Service Transition
    4. Service Operation
    5. Continual Service Improvement
  12. Chapter 4: Service Strategy
    1. Service Strategy theory
    2. Service Strategy concepts
    3. Service Strategy process: Strategy Management for IT Services
    4. Service Strategy process: Service Portfolio Management
    5. Service Strategy process: Financial Management for IT Services
    6. Service Strategy process: Demand Management
    7. Service Strategy process: Business Relationship Management
    8. Putting Service Strategy to work
  13. Chapter 5: Service Design
    1. Service Design theory
    2. Service Design concepts
    3. Service Design process: Service Level Management
    4. Service Design process: Service Catalogue Management
    5. Service Design process: Availability Management
    6. Service Design process: Information Security Management
    7. Service Design process: Supplier Management
    8. Service Design process: Capacity Management
    9. Service Design process: IT Service Continuity Management
    10. Service Design process: Design Coordination
    11. Putting Service Design to work
  14. Chapter 6: Service Transition
    1. Service Transition theory
    2. Service Transition concepts
    3. Service Transition process: Change Management
    4. Service Transition process: Service Asset and Configuration Management (SACM)
    5. Service Transition process: Knowledge Management
    6. Service Transition process: Release and Deployment Management
    7. Service Transition process: Service Validation and Testing
    8. Service Transition process: Change Evaluation
    9. Service Transition process: Transition Planning and Support
    10. Putting Service Transition to work
  15. Chapter 7: Service Operation
    1. Service Operation theory
    2. Service Operation concepts
    3. Service Operation process: Event Management
    4. Service Operation process: Request Fulfilment
    5. Service Operation process: Access Management
    6. Service Operation process: Incident Management
    7. Service Operation process: Problem Management
    8. Service Operation function: the Service Desk
    9. Service Operation function: Technical Management
    10. Service Operation function: Application Management
    11. Service Operation function: IT Operations Management
    12. Putting Service Operation to work
  16. Chapter 8: Continual Service Improvement
    1. Continual Service Improvement (CSI) theory
    2. CSI concepts
    3. CSI process: the Seven-Step Improvement Process
    4. Putting CSI to work
  17. Chapter 9: Service Management Automation
    1. The benefits of automation
    2. Getting ready to automate
    3. Service management automation
  18. Chapter 10: Service Management Training and Qualifications
    1. The ITIL qualification scheme
  19. Chapter 11: Multiple Choice Exam Strategies
    1. The ITIL Foundation Certificate in IT Service Management
    2. Sample exams
    3. Approaching multiple choice exams
    4. Multiple choice exam question analysis
  20. Chapter 12: Further Reading/Resources
    1. General information
    2. Risk management
    3. ITIL education
  21. ITG Resources

Product information

  • Title: ITIL Lifecycle Essentials
  • Author(s): Claire Agutter
  • Release date: March 2013
  • Publisher(s): IT Governance Publishing
  • ISBN: 9781849284196