ITIL is based around a service lifecycle with five phases, which has been documented as five core volumes. These cover a service’s life from start to finish, from conception through to ongoing improvement. These five volumes are referred to as the core of ITIL, and they provide high-level guidance and process information across the complete service lifecycle. The volumes are:

  • Service Strategy
  • Service Design
  • Service Transition
  • Service Operation
  • Continual Service Improvement.

The core is also supplemented by another series of books known as complementary guidance. The complementary publications provide further ...

Get ITIL Lifecycle Essentials now with the O’Reilly learning platform.

O’Reilly members experience live online training, plus books, videos, and digital content from nearly 200 publishers.