O'Reilly logo

Learning Ceph - Second Edition by Karan Singh, Vaibhav Bhembre, Anthony D'Atri

Stay ahead with the world's most comprehensive technology and business learning platform.

With Safari, you learn the way you learn best. Get unlimited access to videos, live online training, learning paths, books, tutorials, and more.

Start Free Trial

No credit card required

RADOS Gateway (RGW)

Ceph natively manages objects, but it is crucial to not confuse this with other uses of the name, especially in relation to object storage in the vein of OpenStack Swift or Amazon's S3() service. The Ceph RGW service can be used to provide object storage compatible with both Swift and S3. Note that when used, the Ceph RGW service utilizes one or more dedicated pools (see Chapter 2, Ceph Components and Services) and cannot be used to access RBD volumes or other types of data that may live within your cluster in their own pools. This service is provided RESTfully with a familiar HTTP/HTTPS interface.

The Ceph RGW service can reside on the same servers as the OSD and their devices in a converged architecture, but it is more ...

With Safari, you learn the way you learn best. Get unlimited access to videos, live online training, learning paths, books, interactive tutorials, and more.

Start Free Trial

No credit card required