Linux Fundamentals

Video Description

Master Linux in this 13 part video series:

  1. Linux History. This first clip in the series covers the milestones that led to the creation of Linux, the concept of a General Public License (GPL), the Minix operating system, and what makes Linux so special.
  2. Linux Properties. This second clip in the series distinguishes Linux from UNIX, and reveals the full directory structure of Linux. The concepts of a multi-sharing timesharing system, background processing, forking, and Posix are explained. Standards for folders and files are discussed. This clip concludes with what free software and open source really mean.
  3. Linux and the Internet. This third clip in the series covers how Linux and TCP/IP work together. The four architectural levels of Application, Transport, Internet, and Link are explained. The configuration of network interfaces is discussed, and then we start invoking commands through the command prompt.
  4. Linux and CLI. This fourth clip in the series covers the secrets of the terminal, including shell scripting, data redirects, and creating and manipulating files.
  5. Linux Security. This fifth clip in the series covers how security works in Linux. Learn about the different types of users and their rights. Setting and assigning permissions are explored as well.
  6. Linux Core. This sixth clip in the series covers the main components of Linux including the boot loader, grub, file system, and kernel.
  7. Linux for Developers. This seventh clip in the series covers the main developer tools, including the interpreter, compiler, libraries, and the make tool.
  8. The Linux Kernel. This eighth clip in the series goes into detail into the Linux kernel. Learn about the kernel space, memory allocation, process management, page sizes, drivers, and the underlying architecture.
  9. Programming in Linux. This ninth clip in the series covers the key programming concepts in Linux, including system calls, optimization, and multi-threading. Learn the basic principles of writing daemons.
  10. Debugging in Linux. This tenth clip in the series covers different issues that may arise in your Linux development. This includes debugging issues with the terminal, compiler, driver, graphical environmental, file system, and kernel.
  11. Cloning and Substituting in Linux. This eleventh clip in the series covers when to replace verses when to substitute Linux, as well as how to perform each approach.
  12. Linux Distribution. This twelfth clip in the series shows you several practical ways to perform Linux distribution.
  13. About LFS. This thirteenth clip in the series covers Linux From Scratch (LFS) and Beyond Linux From Scratch (BLFS). Also learn about and install several very powerful Linux packages.

Table of Contents

  1. Linux History 00:20:05
  2. Linux Properties 00:32:54
  3. Linux and the Internet 00:33:04
  4. Linux and CLI 00:19:49
  5. Linux Security 00:25:07
  6. Linux Core 00:23:11
  7. Linux for Developers 00:19:36
  8. The Linux Kernel 00:30:45
  9. Programming in Linux 00:23:02
  10. Debugging in Linux 00:16:51
  11. Cloning and Substituting in Linux 00:11:13
  12. Linux Distribution 00:16:25
  13. About LFS 00:21:31

Product Information

  • Title: Linux Fundamentals
  • Author(s): Viktor Shcherban
  • Release date: November 2018
  • Publisher(s): Technics Publications
  • ISBN: 9781634624473