DARPA model

The four-layer model that is used to describe the TCP/IP protocol suite. The four layers of the DoD (Department of Defense) Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA) model are: Application, Transport, Internet, and Network Interface.

Data Encryption Standard (DES)

An encryption algorithm that uses a 56-bit key, and maps a 64-bit input block to a 64-bit output block. The key appears to be a 64-bit key, but one bit in each of the 8 bytes is used for odd parity, resulting in 56 bits of usable key.

Data Link Control (DLC)

A protocol used primarily for IBM mainframe computers and printer connectivity.

data stream

All information transferred over a network at any given time.

data-link layer

A layer that packages raw bits from the physical ...

Get Microsoft® Windows® 2000 Server TCP/IP Core Networking Guide now with O’Reilly online learning.

O’Reilly members experience live online training, plus books, videos, and digital content from 200+ publishers.