O'Reilly logo

Microsoft® Windows® SharePoint® Services 3.0 Step by Step by Penelope Coventry, Todd C. Bleeker, Bill English, Olga M. Londer

Stay ahead with the world's most comprehensive technology and business learning platform.

With Safari, you learn the way you learn best. Get unlimited access to videos, live online training, learning paths, books, tutorials, and more.

Start Free Trial

No credit card required

Restoring a List Item from the Recycle Bin

When documents, list items, folders, or even entire lists are deleted, they are simply flagged as removed so that they no longer appear in the site from which they were deleted. By default, sites in a SharePoint Web application are configured to display the deleted item in the site’s Recycle Bin for 30 days. If the user hasn’t restored the deleted item in that time period, it is then permanently expunged from the database. If the user empties their Recycle Bin before the 30 days have elapsed, the deleted item is still available to a site collection administrator from the site collection’s Recycle Bin. However, the total size of the deleted items must remain below a given percentage (50% by default) of ...

With Safari, you learn the way you learn best. Get unlimited access to videos, live online training, learning paths, books, interactive tutorials, and more.

Start Free Trial

No credit card required