O'Reilly logo

QuickBooks 2013 For Dummies by Stephen L. Nelson, MBA, CPA

Stay ahead with the world's most comprehensive technology and business learning platform.

With Safari, you learn the way you learn best. Get unlimited access to videos, live online training, learning paths, books, tutorials, and more.

Start Free Trial

No credit card required

Working in Multi-User Mode

Sharing a QuickBooks file over a network involves a couple tricks. First, you need to make sure that no one who is in single-user mode is using the file that you want to open. If someone is and you try to open the file, QuickBooks displays a message indicating that someone is using the company file in single-user mode. Tell the person to switch to multi-user mode, and then click Try Again.

As soon as you begin creating or editing a transaction, QuickBooks locks the transaction. This way, no one else can edit the transaction while you work on it. You can tell whether you have a transaction open in edit mode by what QuickBooks indicates on the title bar at the top of the form: QuickBooks displays Editing Transaction on the title bar. Other users can open the transaction while you edit it in edit mode, but they can’t make changes to it until you’re finished.

For example, if you attempt to edit a transaction that your co-worker Harriet already has open in edit mode, QuickBooks displays a message that reads (and here, I paraphrase), “Excuse me, Bubba? Harriet is working with that transaction. You need to come back later.”

With Safari, you learn the way you learn best. Get unlimited access to videos, live online training, learning paths, books, interactive tutorials, and more.

Start Free Trial

No credit card required