Setting General Outlook Options

You can set general options to automatically empty deleted items, make Outlook your default e-mail program, set advanced options, and customize the Navigation and Reading panes. By default, you must empty the Deleted Items folder yourself to permanently delete items it contains, such as messages and tasks. Although this gives you the opportunity to retrieve an item that you no longer want deleted, it also increases the size of your Outlook files, and can slow performance. As part of a good maintenance strategy, you can have Outlook empty the Deleted Items folder when you exit the program. Outlook's advanced options include a wide range of settings from warnings about deleting items to add-in programs. You can also ...

Get Show Me Microsoft Office Outlook 2003 now with O’Reilly online learning.

O’Reilly members experience live online training, plus books, videos, and digital content from 200+ publishers.