4.2. Select Data from a Database

Now that you have seen the basics of schemas, we are ready to move into the central theme of this chapter: using basic Transact SQL statements. Transact SQL is generally divided into three categories:

Data Definition Language (DDL)

DDL is the language of object creation. We have already used DDL to create tables and schemas. There are three standard Transact SQL statements associated with DDL. They are CREATE, ALTER, and DELETE.

Data Control Language (DCL)

DCL is the language of object security. When you want to control permissions and access to objects in SQL Server, you will use the primary DCL statements, which are GRANT, DENY, and REVOKE.

Data Manipulation Language (DML)

DML is the language of data interaction. ...

Get SQL Server® 2008 Administration: Instant Reference now with the O’Reilly learning platform.

O’Reilly members experience live online training, plus books, videos, and digital content from nearly 200 publishers.