Appendix A
Glossary
amaranth A nutritious gluten-free grain.
arrowroot A gluten-free starch used as a thickener.
barley A grain containing protein similar to gluten, often used to make malt flavoring and to brew beer. People with celiac disease must not eat barley.
besan A name for flour made from chickpeas.
bran The fiber-rich, outer layer of a cereal grain.
buckwheat A nutritious gluten-free grain.
bulgur A form of whole wheat. Bulgur contains gluten.
cassava A gluten-free starch. May also be referred to as manioc.
celiac disease A genetic, autoimmune disease in which the body reacts to the proteins in wheat, rye, and barley (commonly called gluten) by damaging the intestinal villi—tiny hairlike protrusions in the small intestine that help ...

Get The Complete Idiot's Guide to Gluten-Free Eating now with O’Reilly online learning.

O’Reilly members experience live online training, plus books, videos, and digital content from 200+ publishers.