Sometimes you may want to eliminate an account that is not being used. You should only do that at the end of an accounting year after you have closed the books. Eliminating an account midyear that already has transactions posted to it is never a good idea.
If you are working with a computerized accounting system, you sometimes will find that you are not allowed to delete or eliminate an account. When a computer system doesn’t allow you to delete an account from the chart of accounts, the reason is because that account is a control account.
A control account shows the total of accounts entered in a subsidiary ledger. ...