The Edo Period


1467 The Warring States Period begins, with the emperor losing power to conflicting factions led by daimyos and shoguns.

1585 Toyotomi Hideyoshi is given the title of Imperial Regent by the emperor.


1603 Tokugawa Ieyasu is appointed shogun.

1610–1614 Missionaries are expelled from Japan and Christian activity is banned.

1616 Tokugawa Ieyasu dies.

1854 After years of being closed to the West, Japan opens its ports to American shipping and trade.

1868 The Tokugawa shogunate finally ends with the restoration of imperial power under Emperor Meiji.

On October 21, 1600 there was a momentous battle in Sekigahara, central ...

Get The History Book now with O’Reilly online learning.

O’Reilly members experience live online training, plus books, videos, and digital content from 200+ publishers.