Founding Communist China


1911–12 The Republic of China is born under Nationalist Sun Yat-sen; the last Qing emperor abdicates.

1919 The May Fourth Movement, a student-led protest, spreads ideas of nationalism and communism.

1921 The Communist Party founded in Shanghai promotes revolution based on Marxism.


1958 Mao Zedong introduces the Great Leap Forward, a five-year economic plan.

1978 Premier Deng Xiaoping announces a new economic program to make China a major financial power.

1989 Troops kill hundreds of pro-democracy supporters in Tiananmen Square.

In the autumn of 1933, the Chinese Communist Party (CCP) was on the brink ...

Get The History Book now with the O’Reilly learning platform.

O’Reilly members experience books, live events, courses curated by job role, and more from O’Reilly and nearly 200 top publishers.