6Say Hello to Martin Pring’s Six Business Cycle Stages

The Six Stages

A General Overview

A Roundup of the Six Individual Stages

Stage I (Only bonds are bullish)

Stage II (Only commodities are bearish)

Stage III (Everything is bullish)

Stage IV (Bonds begin a bear market but stocks and commodities remain bullish)

Stage V (Only commodities are bullish)

Stage VI (Nothing is bullish)


The approach described here is far from perfect, but it does offer a framework or road map to help us understand where we are in the cycle and more importantly what is likely to happen next. Indeed, we can use the knowledge of the chronological bond, stock, commodity sequence to create an actual financial map. We know there are three markets and each one has ...

Get The Investor's Guide to Active Asset Allocation now with O’Reilly online learning.

O’Reilly members experience live online training, plus books, videos, and digital content from 200+ publishers.