Articles I Through III: Separation of Powers

In This Chapter

  • Article I
  • Article II
  • Article III

The first three original Articles of the Constitution, also called the “Powers” section of the Constitution, defined the three branches of government: legislative, executive, and judicial. This part of the Constitution also set up the separation of powers, a sort of rock-paper-scissors arrangement aimed at keeping any one branch of government from amassing too much power.

The legislative branch can pass legislation for the president to sign into law, but the legislature has the authority to override a presidential veto. The president has ...

Get The U.S. Constitution, 2nd Edition now with O’Reilly online learning.

O’Reilly members experience live online training, plus books, videos, and digital content from 200+ publishers.