Choosing a vCenter Single Sign-On deployment mode

In vSphere 5.1, there are three deployment modes available for the vCenter SSO server. These are as follows:

  • Basic mode
  • High availability cluster mode
  • Multisite mode

The deployment mode that is chosen depends on the requirements of the design. Is high availability required? Will there be a SSO server located at multiple sites? Will vCenter Linked Mode be used? This recipe takes a look at the different deployment modes and how they are used.

SSO has been rewritten, and the deployment has been simplified in vSphere 5.5. vSphere 5.5 provides a single deployment option for single or multiple sites. The dependency on an external database has also been removed in vSphere 5.5.

How to do it…

To determine the ...

Get VMware vSphere 5.x Datacenter Design Cookbook now with O’Reilly online learning.

O’Reilly members experience live online training, plus books, videos, and digital content from 200+ publishers.