Web-Based Projects that Rock the Class: Build Fully-Functional Web Apps and Learn Through Doing

Book description

Explore the modern concepts of client-server web applications. This book includes examples that are simple to comprehend building apps that are not much different from real-world applications. Each chapter develops a different subject, explaining the concept from A to Z, and provides a project with complete source code and configuration steps. 

Chapters also include thorough coverage of the subject described and the full source code is provided with a consistently updated repo on GitHub, accounting for the frequent changes made to language versions. The chapter apps use HTML, JavaScript, AJAX, CSS, PHP, MySQL, Apache, Lighttpd, SSL/TLS, DDNS, Shell Programming, Sockets programming, tools such as Wireshark, and remote online tools for testing.

As you master each topic sequentially you'll fully understand the inner workings of the client-server apps and become confident in creating your own web-based apps. Whether you want to work on the web for fun, for school, or for work, Web-Based Projects that Rock the Class is a great place to start.

What You'll Learn

  • Use HTML, JavaScript, CSS, PHP, AJAX and MySQL for web projects
  • Set up and handle two different web servers Apache and Lighttpd
  • Obtain DNS and DDNS domain names
  • Apply the SSL/TLS protocols for HTTPS connections
  • Test remotely with online tools your web app – then create similar tools
Who This Book Is For

College and university students, and individuals interested in web programming. Ideally you will have basic experience in requesting a web page from the browser and understanding online services like e-shops, basic-level experience with Linux, knowledge of basic-level programming language principles, and basic knowledge of what a database is.



Product information

  • Title: Web-Based Projects that Rock the Class: Build Fully-Functional Web Apps and Learn Through Doing
  • Author(s): Christos Karayiannis
  • Release date: May 2019
  • Publisher(s): Apress
  • ISBN: 9781484244630