O'Reilly logo

Windows® 7 Visual™ Quick Tips by Paul McFedries

Stay ahead with the world's most comprehensive technology and business learning platform.

With Safari, you learn the way you learn best. Get unlimited access to videos, live online training, learning paths, books, tutorials, and more.

Start Free Trial

No credit card required

6.9. Turn Off Confirmation for Deleted Files

You can save a step each time you delete a file by turning off the Recycle Bin's confirmation dialog box.

Each time you delete a file in Windows 7, the Confirm File Delete dialog box appears, asking if you are sure you want to send the file to the Recycle Bin. This is usually a good idea because it prevents you from accidentally deleting a file that you would prefer to keep.

However, deleting a file by accident in Windows 7 is not a huge problem because you can always open the Recycle Bin folder and then restore the file to its original folder.

Therefore, if you find the extra step of responding to the delete confirmation prompt to be unnecessary or inefficient, you can adjust the Recycle Bin's properties ...

With Safari, you learn the way you learn best. Get unlimited access to videos, live online training, learning paths, books, interactive tutorials, and more.

Start Free Trial

No credit card required