O'Reilly logo
live online training icon Live Online training

Software Architecture Superstream Series: Software Architecture Fundamentals

Topic: Software Development
Neal Ford

There’s no single—or clearly defined—path to becoming a software architect. But these sessions will give you a solid grasp of the fundamentals, preparing you to implement the strategies that will help your organization increase performance, reduce costs, manage complexity, build in resilience and scalability, and speed time to market. Whether you're a senior-level developer who wants to make the move to architect or a practicing software architect who wants to hone your skills, these sessions provide the insight, advice, and essential knowledge you need to up your game.

About the Software Architecture Superstream Series: This six-part series of half-day online events focuses on the hottest topics in software architecture, giving you the insights to keep pace with what’s next while still accommodating legacy needs. Both seasoned software architects and those looking to break into the field will learn new skills and the latest information on the tools and technologies they need to succeed.

APAC - friendly time

What you'll learn-and how you can apply it

  • Learn how to identify and design architectural components
  • Understand exactly what microservices are and the power they bring
  • Explore techniques to analyze and select the right architecture patterns
  • Discover ways to diagram and document an architectural solution
  • Build better communication skills to champion architecture decisions to developers and stakeholders

This Superstream is for you because...

  • You're a senior-level developer who wants to make the move to architect.
  • You're a practicing software architect who wants to learn new software architecture techniques and practices.
  • You're considering adopting a microservice architecture.
  • You're responsible for creating a software architecture for your company, and you want to learn the fundamentals.

Prerequisites

  • Come with your questions
  • Have a pen and paper handy to capture notes, insights, and inspiration

Recommended follow-up:

About your host

  • Neal Ford is a director, software architect, and meme wrangler at ThoughtWorks, a software company and a community of passionate, purpose-led individuals who think disruptively to deliver technology to address the toughest challenges, all while seeking to revolutionize the IT industry and create positive social change. He’s an internationally recognized expert on software development and delivery, especially in the intersection of Agile engineering techniques and software architecture. Neal has authored seven books (and counting), a number of magazine articles, and dozens of video presentations and spoken at hundreds of developers conferences worldwide. His topics include software architecture, continuous delivery, functional programming, cutting-edge software innovations, and a business-focused book and video on improving technical presentations. Check out his website, Nealford.com.

Schedule

The timeframes are only estimates and may vary according to how the class is progressing

EVENT 2: SOFTWARE ARCHITECTURE FUNDAMENTALS - MARCH 18, 2021, 7:00AM–11:00AM ET | 12:00PM–4:00PM UTC/GMT | 5:30PM–9:30PM IST

Neal Ford: Introduction (5 minutes) - 7:00am ET | 12:00pm UTC/GMT | 5:30pm IST

  • Neal Ford welcomes you to the Software Architecture Superstream.

Trisha Gee: Meet the Expert (50 minutes) - 7:05am ET | 12:05pm UTC/GMT | 5:35pm IST

  • Developer advocate Trisha Gee discusses some of the challenges developers face when transitioning to an architect role. Join in to hear her insights on what makes that transition difficult and how to make it easier—along with stories of challenges faced and overcome.
  • Trisha Gee is a Java Champion, published author, and leader of the Java Developer Advocacy team at JetBrains. Trisha has developed Java applications for a range of industries of all sizes, including finance, manufacturing, and nonprofit. She has expertise in high-performance Java systems, dabbles with open source development, and is a leader of the Sevilla Java User Group. Trisha’s exceptionally passionate about sharing things that help real developers, from getting them up to speed on the latest version of Java to teaching tips and tricks to save time with IntelliJ IDEA to promoting healthy technical communities across the globe. She’s the coeditor of 97 Things Every Java Developer Should Know and the author of What to Look for in a Code Review and Developer, Advocate!. Trisha also produces Java Annotated Monthly, a newsletter for JetBrains offering a summary of the month in the Java world.
  • Break (10 minutes)

Mark Richards: Understanding Architecture Styles (and When to Use Them) (50 minutes) - 8:05am ET | 1:05pm UTC/GMT | 6:35pm IST

  • Whether starting a new greenfield application or analyzing the vitality of an existing application, one of the decisions an architect must make is which architecture style to use (or refactor to). Microservices? Service-based? Microkernel? Pipeline? Layered? Space-based? Event-driven? SOA? Understanding these architecture styles (and their relative strengths and weaknesses) is an essential starting point in determining which to use. Mark Richards, author of Fundamentals of Software Architecture, will detail eight common architecture styles, discuss the pros and cons of each, and explain when you should (and shouldn’t) use them.
  • Mark Richards is an experienced hands-on software architect involved in the architecture, design, and implementation of microservices architectures, service-oriented architectures, and distributed systems. He's been in the software industry since 1983 and has significant experience and expertise in application, integration, and enterprise architecture. He's the author of numerous O’Reilly technical books and videos, including several books on microservices, the Software Architecture Fundamentals video series, the Enterprise Messaging video series, and Java Message Service, second edition, and was a contributing author to 97 Things Every Software Architect Should Know.
  • Break (5 minutes)

Sonya Natanzon: The Role of the Software Architect (50 minutes) - 9:00am ET | 2:00pm UTC/GMT | 7:30pm IST

  • We're all familiar with the title “software architect,” but you may not know what a software architect actually does—or how to become one. Perhaps someone even gave you the title, but you're not sure what’s expected of you. Or you suspect you might be doing the job of a software architect but can’t pinpoint when or explain how you made the leap. Join Sonya Natanzon to explore the role in depth.
  • Sonya Natanzon is an integration solutions architect at Guardant Health, where she’s passionate about helping patients by writing software. Sonya has over 15 years of experience in the healthcare industry. She started out as a software developer and bounced around a number of industries before invariably returning to healthcare.
  • Break (10 minutes)

Vanya Seth: Journey to the Cloud—A Replatforming Story (50 minutes) - 10:00am ET | 3:00pm UTC/GMT | 8:30pm IST

  • Legacy modernization has many flavors. Amazon popularized the “6 Rs” model—repurchase, rehost, replatform, refactor, retire, and retain—as a framework to make decisions on what the right strategy for a given organization should be. But when it comes to hard numbers, 74% of organizations still fail to complete their modernization, owing to a variety of factors. Vanya Seth shares pragmatic lessons learned from replatforming a big enterprise organically—from aligning the organization design to the technical architecture principles they leveraged to making it a reality (and a successful one at that).
  • Vanya Seth is the head of technology at ThoughtWorks India, where she helps clients from various domains and markets build evolutionary architectures and formulate technology strategy; she also consults on aspects such as organization design, scalability, and security. A passionate technologist with a knack for solving complex problems, Vanya brings 12 years of experience in building cloud native applications designed for scale. She has a strong product background as well as extensive experience working with open source communities, particularly with the District Health Information System (DHIS2), an open source health platform widely used across Africa, Asia, and the Indian subcontinent.

Neal Ford: Closing Remarks (10 minutes) - Neal Ford: Closing Remarks (10 minutes) - 10:50am ET | 3:50pm UTC/GMT | 9:20pm IST

  • Neal Ford closes out today’s event.

Upcoming Software Architecture Superstream events:

  • Mastering Your Microservices Stack - May 19, 2021
  • Soft Skills Are the Hardest Part - July 14, 2021
  • Software Architecture Fundamentals: Comparing Architectural Styles - September 15, 2021
  • Architecture Outside of Applications - November 3, 2021