A Weblog About Topics and Issues Discussed in the Book Spam Kings by Brian McWilliams

« Phishers target GoDaddy.com | Main | More on the Telewest blacklisting »

May 9, 2005

Send-Safe is back under a new name

Revolution MailerAfter being booted around the Internet for weeks, the makers of the once popular Send-Safe spamware have apparently decided to turn over a new leaf.

No, Ruslan Ibragimov and his colleagues aren't getting out of the spam business. Quite the contrary. Since the name "Send-Safe" has recently earned so much bad publicity, Ruslan has simply decided to rebrand his product -- in apparent hopes of flying under the radar of anti-spammers.

The new incarnation of Send-Safe is now called Revolution Mailer. Version 2.20b (build 734) of the program was officially announced in spammer forums a few days ago. Copies of the rebranded software were available at RevolutionMailer.com and RevolutionMailer.info. (Both sites are currently hosted on the same server in China, at an IP address under the control of Levon Gillespie.)

I haven't tried sending any messages with the new program yet, but it hardly appears revolutionary. In fact, the rebranding of Send-Safe seems to have been a hasty affair. The program interface looks exactly like the latest version of Send-Safe, aside from the name in the title bar. Some of the files installed reveal their lineage: send-safe.dll, for example. The system tray icon also still displays the Send-Safe name.

After a big scare about the software was created a while back, Send-Safe repeatedly lost the hosting for its former web sites. But anti-spammers didn't stop there. Soon, they managed to get dozens of unsuspecting shareware site operators to purge their copies of Send-Safe.

My guess is that this Revolution will be similarly defeated.

Posted by brian at May 9, 2005 10:19 AM


Noone uses send-safe.

Posted by: Pavan at May 9, 2005 1:15 PM

Have the authors added any new funcionality, such as the ability to check the host for its configured SMTP server?

If so, we may see tougher Spam. If not, a rose by any other name...

Posted by: BJ at May 9, 2005 10:09 PM

A rose? Don't you mean a turd?

Posted by: unnamed at May 16, 2005 5:44 AM

Please enlighten me on how to purchase one month membership.Awaiting your response.Cheers

Posted by: Mark Thomas at September 17, 2005 5:35 AM

please educate me about this sofwear and i want to know if it also hides your IP address like the send safe mailer.

Posted by: nobeski at October 22, 2005 6:26 PM


Weblog authors are solely responsible for the content and accuracy of their weblogs, including opinions they express,
and O’Reilly Media, Inc., disclaims any and all liability for that content, its accuracy, and opinions it may contain.

All trademarks and registered trademarks appearing on spamkings.oreilly.com are the property of their respective owners.

O'Reilly Home | Privacy Policy

© 2004 O'Reilly Media, Inc.
For assistance with this site, email: