1Testing Process

Put the lime in the coconut and drink ’em both together, Put the lime in the coconut, then you’ll feel better . . .

From the lyrics of “Coconut,” by Harry Nilsson

The first chapter of the Advanced Test Analyst syllabus is concerned with the overall test process, which serves as the context in which the rest of the activities in the syllabus occur. There are nine sections.

  1. Introduction
  2. Testing in the Software Development Lifecycle
  3. Test Planning, Monitoring, and Control
  4. Test Analysis
  5. Test Design
  6. Test Implementation
  7. Test Execution
  8. Evaluating Exit Criteria and Reporting
  9. Test Closure Activities

Let’s look at each section and how it relates to test analysis.


Learning objectives

Recall of content only.

In the Foundation ...

Get Advanced Software Testing - Vol. 1, 2nd Edition, 2nd Edition now with the O’Reilly learning platform.

O’Reilly members experience live online training, plus books, videos, and digital content from nearly 200 publishers.