Fault domains and update domains

When you place your VMs in an Availability Set, Azure guarantees to spread them across fault and update domains. By default, Azure will assign three fault domains and five update domains (which can be increased to a maximum of 20) to the Availability Set.

When spreading your VMs over fault domains, your VMs sit over three different racks in the Azure data center. So, in the case of an event or failure on the underlying platform, only one rack gets affected and the other VMs are still accessible.

VMs spread over three fault domains

Update domains are useful in the case of an OS or host update. When you spread ...

Get Architecting Microsoft Azure Solutions - Exam Guide 70-535 now with O’Reilly online learning.

O’Reilly members experience live online training, plus books, videos, and digital content from 200+ publishers.