UKCAT 161
16 What is the time difference in NewYork compared to Delhi?
(A) 10 hours 30 mins ahead
(B) 10 hours 30 mins behind
(C) 11 hours 30 mins ahead
(D) 11 hours 30 mins behind
(E) 12 hours 30 mins behind
17 What is the time in Singapore when it is 09.00 in London?
(A) 16.30 hrs
(B) 17.30 hrs
(C) 18.30 hrs
(D) 19.30 hrs
(E) 20.30 hrs
18 A plane leaves London 19.30 local time and arrives in New
York at 21.00 local time. How long was the flight?
(A) 5.5 hours
(B) 6 hours
(C) 6.5 hours
(D) 7 hours
(E) 7.5 hours
Time zones for several cities around the world at 12.00 hrs in London
City Local time
Berlin 13.00 hrs
Cairo 14.00 hrs
Chicago 06.00 hrs
Delhi 17.30 hrs
Edinburgh 12.00 hrs
Karachi 17.00 hrs
Melbourne 22.00 hrs
New York 07.00 hrs
Reykjavik 11.00 hrs
Singapore 19.30 hrs
M08_WILL4650_01_SE_C08.QXP:M08_WILL4650_01_SE_C08 17/11/09 10:59 Page 161
19 What time is it in Reyjavik if it is 16.30 hrs in London?
(A) 13.30 hrs
(B) 14.00 hrs
(C) 14.30 hrs
(D) 15.00 hrs
(E) 15.30 hrs
20 A plane leaves London at 20.00 hrs traveling at 500 mph.
The distance to Chicago is 4,000 miles. What local time
does it arrive?
(A) 21.00 hrs
(B) 21.30 hrs
(C) 22.00 hrs
(D) 22.30 hrs
(E) 23.00 hrs
Use the figures provided in the graph Monthly rental income for
two properties (Houses A and B) for 2003–2008 to answer the fol-
lowing five questions.
162 brilliant numera cy tests
1400
1200
1000
800
600
400
200
0
House A
House B
2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009
Monthly Rental Income (£) on Houses A and B
21 What is the change in House B’s monthly rental income
between 2003 and 2004?
(A) £100 increase
(B) £100 decrease
(C) £150 increase
(D) £150 decrease
(E) £200 increase
M08_WILL4650_01_SE_C08.QXP:M08_WILL4650_01_SE_C08 17/11/09 10:59 Page 162
22 What is the overall change in House A’s monthly rental
income between 2004 and 2006?
(A) £300 decrease
(B) £200 decrease
(C) £0
(D) £200 increase
(E) £300 increase
23 What is the difference in House B’s income for 2007 com-
pared to 2003?
(A) £0
(B) £1,200
(C) £2,400
(D) £4,800
(E) £7,200
24 What is the difference in House A’s monthly rental income
for 2003 compared to 2008?
(A) £100 less (per month)
(B) £100 more (per month)
(C) £200 less (per month)
(D) £200 more (per month)
(E) No difference
25 Between which years is there the same difference in rental
income across Houses A and B?
(A) 2003, 2006
(B) 2005, 2006
(C) 2006, 2007
(D) 2007, 2008
(E) 2006, 2007
Use the figures provided in the table Approximate sizes (in square
miles) of several key islands, oceans and seas to answer the following
five questions.
UKCAT 163
M08_WILL4650_01_SE_C08.QXP:M08_WILL4650_01_SE_C08 17/11/09 10:59 Page 163
164 brilliant numera cy tests
26 Which of the following statements is true?
(A) Lake Honshu is less than 5% larger than Lake Victoria.
(B) The largest island is smaller than the smallest body of
water.
(C) The largest body of water is bigger than the combined
area of all four islands.
(D) The Caribbean Sea is the second biggest body of water
shown.
(E) Greenland is less than twice the size of the other islands
shown.
27 Which are the smallest and the largest of all islands and
bodies of water shown?
(A) Borneo, Atlantic Ocean
(B) Victoria, South China Sea
(C) Honshu, South China Sea
(D) Honshu, Atlantic Ocean
(E) Victoria, Atlantic Ocean
28 What is the total size of the islands shown (in square miles)?
(A) 1,198,000
(B) 1,298,000
(C) 1,398,000
(D) 1,498,000
(E) 1,598,000
Approximate sizes (in square miles) of several key islands, oceans and seas
Island Square miles
Borneo 287,050
Greenland 839,700
Honshu 88,950
Victoria 82,300
Body of water Square miles
Atlantic Ocean 31,799,900
Caribbean Sea 1,063,075
Gulf of Mexico 596,050
South China Sea 1,148,850
M08_WILL4650_01_SE_C08.QXP:M08_WILL4650_01_SE_C08 17/11/09 10:59 Page 164
UKCAT 165
29 What percentage of the total area of water shown is the
Atlantic Ocean (to the nearest whole number)?
(A) 90%
(B) 91%
(C) 92%
(D) 93%
(E) 95%
30 What is the difference in size (in square miles) between the
smallest and the largest bodies of water?
(A) 31,203,950
(B) 31,203,900
(C) 31,203,850
(D) 31,203,800
(E) 31,203,750
To answer the following five questions refer to the table Cost of
monthly and annual subscriptions for magazines a to e.
Cost of monthly and annual subscriptions for magazines a to e
Magazines a–e
abc de
Annual fee (£) 49.00 59.00 54.99 55.99 49.99
Monthly fee (£) 5.00 6.00 5.49 5.99 4.99
31 What is the cost of taking out monthly subscriptions for 18
months with magazines a, b and d?
(A) £74.99
(B) £88.50
(C) £265.93
(D) £305.82
(E) £323.64
M08_WILL4650_01_SE_C08.QXP:M08_WILL4650_01_SE_C08 17/11/09 10:59 Page 165

Get Brilliant Numeracy Tests now with O’Reilly online learning.

O’Reilly members experience live online training, plus books, videos, and digital content from 200+ publishers.