C# 2010 for Programmers, Fourth Edition

Book description

The professional programmer’s Deitel® guide to C# 2010 and the powerful Microsoft® .NET 4 Framework

Written for programmers with a background in C++, Java or other high-level, object-oriented languages, this book applies the Deitel signature live-code approach to teaching programming and explores Microsoft’s C# 2010 language and .NET 4 in depth. The book is updated for Visual Studio® 2010 and C# 4, and presents C# concepts in the context of fully tested programs, complete with syntax shading, detailed line-by-line code descriptions and program outputs. The book features 200+ C# applications with 17,000+ lines of proven C# code, as well as hundreds of programming tips that will help you build robust applications.

Start with a concise introduction to C# fundamentals using an early classes and objects approach, then rapidly move on to more advanced topics, including multithreading, .NET 4, LINQ, WPF, ASP.NET 4, WCF web services and Silverlight®. Along the way you’ll enjoy the Deitels’ classic treatment of object-oriented programming and the OOD/UML® ATM case study, including a complete C# implementation. When you’re finished, you’ll be ready to build next-generation Windows applications, web applications and web services.

Check out the related LiveLessons video product, C# 2010 Fundamentals: Parts I, II and III, containing 20+ hours of video synchronized to this book: www.deitel.com/livelessons.

Practical, example-rich coverage of:

  • .NET 4, Types, Arrays, Exception Handling

  • LINQ, Object/Collection Initializers

  • OOP: Classes, Objects, Inheritance, Polymorphism, Interfaces

  • WinForms, WPF, XAML, Event Handling

  • WPF GUI/Graphics/Multimedia

  • Silverlight®

  • Lists, Queues, Stacks, Trees

  • Generic Collections, Methods and Classes

  • XML®, LINQ to XML

  • Database, LINQ to SQL


  • Web Forms, Web Controls

  • WCF Web Services

  • OOD/UML® Case Study

Product information

  • Title: C# 2010 for Programmers, Fourth Edition
  • Author(s): Paul J. Deitel, Harvey M. Deitel
  • Release date: October 2010
  • Publisher(s): Pearson
  • ISBN: 9780132657396