Chapter 13. Implementing IPv4

IPv4 Addressing

IPv4 addresses consist of 32 bits. These 32 bits are divided into four sections of 8 bits, each called an octet. Addresses are typically represented in dotted-decimal notation. For example

Subnet masks identify which portion of the address identifies a particular network and which portion identifies a host on the network.

The address classes defined for IP networks consist of the following subnet masks:

Class A (8 bits)

Class B (16 bits)

Class C (24 bits)

Class A addresses begin with 0 and have a first octet in decimal of 1 to 127. Class B addresses begin with 10 and range from 128 to 191. Class C addresses begin with 110 and range from 192 to 223. ...

Get CCIE Routing and Switching v4.0 Quick Reference, Second Edition now with O’Reilly online learning.

O’Reilly members experience live online training, plus books, videos, and digital content from 200+ publishers.