Clearing the Startup Configuration
Problem
You want to clear an old configuration out of your router and return it to a factory default configuration.
Solution
You can delete the current startup configuration files and return the router to its factory default settings with the erase nvram: command:
Router1#erase nvram:Erasing the nvram filesystem will remove all files! Continue? [confirm] <enter> [OK] Erase of nvram: complete Router1#reloadSystem configuration has been modified. Save? [yes/no]:noProceed with reload? [confirm]<enter>
You can achieve the same result with the erase startup-config command:
Router1#erase startup-configErasing the nvram filesystem will remove all files! Continue? [confirm]<enter>[OK] Erase of nvram: complete Router1#reloadProceed with reload? [confirm]<enter>
Discussion
Before you redeploy an old router that you have previously used for some other purpose, it is a good idea to completely erase the old configuration. This ensures that the router starts with a clean configuration. However, if you did this on a production router, it would wipe out the configuration and leave it with all of its interfaces down. Fortunately, completely deleting your configuration requires two steps: erasing the startup configuration file, followed by a reload.
After you erase your startup configuration file and reload the router, it will enter its configuration dialog mode. Most experienced Cisco engineers prefer to skip this mode:
--- System Configuration Dialog --- Would ...
Become an O’Reilly member and get unlimited access to this title plus top books and audiobooks from O’Reilly and nearly 200 top publishers, thousands of courses curated by job role, 150+ live events each month,
and much more.
Read now
Unlock full access