Saving Configuration Changes

After you have completed all of the basic settings on the router, you need to save these changes to the startup configuration. If you fail to do this, you will find that at the next restart of the router, you have lost all your changes! To save your settings, execute the following command at the privileged mode prompt:

That's correct. Despite what you might suspect, you save in privileged mode, not configuration mode.

router#copy run start
Destination filename [startup-config]?

If this is the first time you have saved a configuration, you will be prompted for the name of the startup file, and it will suggest to you the default name startup-config. Press Enter to accept this default. You will be informed that the ...

Get Cisco Networking Essentials now with O’Reilly online learning.

O’Reilly members experience live online training, plus books, videos, and digital content from 200+ publishers.