Chapter 7

Corporate and Datacenter Architectures

This chapter covers the following topics related to Objective 1.7 (Explain basic corporate and datacenter network architecture) of the CompTIA Network+ N10-008 certification exam:

  • Three-tiered

    • Core

    • Distribution/aggregation layer

    • Access/edge

  • Software-defined networking

    • Application layer

    • Control layer

    • Infrastructure layer

    • Management plane

  • Spine and leaf

    • Software-defined network

    • Top-of-rack switching

    • Backbone

  • Traffic flows

    • North-South

    • East-West

  • Branch office vs. on-premises datacenter vs. colocation

  • Storage area networks

    • Connection types

      • Fibre Channel over Ethernet (FCoE)

      • Fibre Channel

      • Internet Small Computer Systems Interface (iSCSI)

In today’s complex networks, we really need tested ...

Get CompTIA Network+ N10-008 Cert Guide now with the O’Reilly learning platform.

O’Reilly members experience books, live events, courses curated by job role, and more from O’Reilly and nearly 200 top publishers.