Chapter 2

Introduction to Wireless Local Area Networking

The following CWTS exam objectives are covered in this chapter:

  • 1.1 Define the roles of the following organizations in providing direction and accountability within the wireless networking industry
    • IEEE
    • Wi-Fi Alliance
    • Local regulatory authorities
  • 1.3 Summarize the basic attributes of the following WLAN standards, amendments, and product certifications
    • 802.11a
    • 802.11b
    • 802.11g
    • 802.11n
    • Wi-Fi Multimedia (WMM) certification
    • WMM Power Save (WMM-PS) certification
    • Wi-Fi Protected Access (WPA/WPA2) certification
    • Enterprise Mode
    • Personal Mode
  • 1.4 Explain the role of Wi-Fi as a wireless network access technology
  • 5.1 Identify deployment scenarios for common WLAN network ...

Get CWTS: Certified Wireless Technology Specialist Official Study Guide: (PW0-071), 2nd Edition now with O’Reilly online learning.

O’Reilly members experience live online training, plus books, videos, and digital content from 200+ publishers.