Digital circuits operate with two binary digits, 0 and 1. These logic circuits perform various arithmetic operations on the given inputs. Boolean, a mathematician, proposed an algebra that can be used to express these logic functions called the Boolean algebra. It comprises of a set of rules and theorems that governs the operation of the logic gates. As in case of algebra, alphabets are used to denote variables.


There are four connecting symbols used in Boolean algebra.

  1. Equal sign (=)
  2. Multiplication sign (·)
  3. Plus sign (+)
  4. Inversion sign (‘) or (-)
  1. Equal sign: This refers to the sign of equality as in mathematics. The logical value on one side is the same as the logical value on the other ...

Get Digital Electronics now with O’Reilly online learning.

O’Reilly members experience live online training, plus books, videos, and digital content from 200+ publishers.