Check In and Check Out
If you’re the sole developer for a website, the Files panel’s Put and Get buttons are fine for transferring files. But if you’re on a team of developers, those simple tools can get you in trouble.
Suppose your boss emails you an important announcement that she wants posted on your site’s home page immediately. So you download the home page from the web server and start to edit it. At the same time, your co-worker Bob notices a typo on the page. He downloads it, too.
You’re a much faster worker than Bob, so you add the critical news to the home page and move it back to the server. But then Bob transfers his corrected home page, overwriting your edits and eliminating that urgent notice you just added. (An hour later, your phone rings. It’s the boss.)
Without some kind of system to monitor who has what file and to prevent people from overwriting each other’s work, collaborative web development is a chaotic mess. Fortunately, Dreamweaver’s Check In and Check Out system provides a civilized answer to the problem, specifically designed for group web development. It works like your local public library: When you check out a file, no one else can have it. When you’re finished, you check the file back in, releasing control of it, and allowing someone else on the team to check it out and work on it.
To use the Check In/Check Out feature effectively, you first need to turn it on. You’ll find that setting under the Advanced options when you set up your remote server (as described ...