Recycle Bin

By default, when a user deletes a file in Windows, the file is placed in the Recycle Bin. To bypass the Recycle Bin, the user must hold down the Shift key while pressing Delete. Because few users are aware of this option, most deleted files pass through the Recycle Bin on most systems.

When a file is in the Recycle Bin, the user has the option of restoring the file to its original location. A user can also select an individual file or files and delete them from the Recycle Bin. The final option for the Recycle Bin is to empty it, which deletes all the files in the Recycle Bin.

With that, I have described the basic operation of the Recycle Bin as the user sees it. To enable this functionality, much is taking place under the hood. ...

Get EnCE EnCase Computer Forensics: The Official EnCase Certified Examiner Study Guide, 3rd Edition now with O’Reilly online learning.

O’Reilly members experience live online training, plus books, videos, and digital content from 200+ publishers.