2.8. Classes of Service

Fibre Channel classes of service are managed by the FC-2 level. Currently there are three classes of service defined by the standard:

  • Class 1— Dedicated connection service.

    - Connection-oriented

    - Acknowledged delivery

  • Class 2— Multiplexed service.

    - Connectionless

    - Acknowledged delivery

  • Class 3— Datagram service. This is the current class of service provided for by Hewlett-Packard. The device drivers determine if data is not received and needs to be retransmitted.

    - Connectionless

    - Unacknowledged delivery

Other classes of service may follow. However, they are currently not defined.

Get Fibre Channel for Mass Storage now with the O’Reilly learning platform.

O’Reilly members experience live online training, plus books, videos, and digital content from nearly 200 publishers.