20. Middle Eastern and North African Countries

The term MENA, short for “Middle East and North Africa,” is a region that extends from Morocco in northwest Africa to Iran in southwest Asia and generally includes all the countries of the Middle East and North Africa. This includes the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) bordering the Gulf of Arabia, and those with shores on the Mediterranean often referred to as the Levant. Sometimes Turkey is included even though it’s technically an associate member of the European Union. Turkey borders three Middle East countries and shares cultures and some language.

Profile of MENA Online

As you can see in Table 20.1, Arabic Internet use is largely concentrated among Turkey, Egypt, and Saudi Arabia. Other than ...

Get Global Search Engine Marketing: Fine-Tuning Your International Search Engine Results now with the O’Reilly learning platform.

O’Reilly members experience live online training, plus books, videos, and digital content from nearly 200 publishers.