Chapter 5

SAARC and other Organizations

South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC)

SAARC was established in December 1985 by the heads of states of Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka. It aims to accelerate the process of economic and social development in the South Asia in a spirit of friendship, trust and understanding. The recent area of cooperation of SAARC countries include agriculture and rural development, health and population activities, women, youth and children, environment and forestry, science and technology and meteorology, human resources development and transport. Recently, cooperation in the fields of Information and Communications Technology, Biotechnology, Intellectual Property Rights, ...

Get India and the Dynamics of World Politics now with the O’Reilly learning platform.

O’Reilly members experience books, live events, courses curated by job role, and more from O’Reilly and nearly 200 top publishers.