Indian Political Thought, 2nd Edition

Book description

The pre-colonial arena remained largely untouched and disassociated with the mainstream Indian political thought except for Kautilya. In the past half decade or more, new thinkers of mainly pre-colonial years, who were earlier read as part of the discipline of history, literature and theology with their disciplinary matrices has been included with the focus on their political ideas. Buddha, Manu, Zia Barani, Abul Fazal, Kabir are representatives of this emerging trend. In the second edition, we have focused on this genre by incorporating eight new political thinkers of which six are of pre-colonial years whose political social ideas are reflected here in their works. Buddha, Thiruvalluvar, Basava, Kabir, Vemana and Tulsi are part of this endeavour. The other two, Narayan Guru and Tilak, are of late 19th and early 20th century. They were social-political activists who deeply impacted the people of their regions. Many of them are known today as saint-poets, social reformers or religious gods.

Table of contents

  1. Cover
  2. About Pearson
  3. Title Page
  4. Contents
  5. Preface Himanshu Roy
  6. Introduction Mahendra Prasad Singh
  7. 1. Dhamma: Buddha’s and Aśoka’s Mahendra Prasad Singh
  8. 2. Kautilya: Theory of State Mahendra Prasad Singh
  9. 3. Political Ideas of Thiruvalluvar P. Ramajayam
  10. 4. Manu: Social Laws Nalini Sinha
  11. 5. Exploring the Modern in Medieval: Political Ideas of Basava Prakash S. Desai
  12. 6. Zia Barani: Good Sultan and Ideal Polity Himanshu Roy and Muzaffar Alam
  13. 7. Political Ideas of Kabir Himanshu Roy
  14. 8. Political Philosophy of Tulsidas Niraj Kumar Jha
  15. 9. Abul Fazl: Governance and Administration Kamla
  16. 10. Viswadhabhi Rama Vinura Vema: The Social and Political in Vemana’s Thought K. Srinivasulu
  17. 11. Rammohan Roy: Civil Rights Amiya P. Sen
  18. 12. Jotirao Phule: Social Justice Niraj Kumar Jha
  19. 13. Tilak’s Nationalism and Swaraj Shri Prakash Singh
  20. 14. Narayana Guru K. Jayaprasad
  21. 15. Vivekananda: Cultural Nationalism Amiya P. Sen
  22. 16. Aurobindo: Nationalism and Democracy Sangit Kumar Ragi
  23. 17. Ramabai: Gender and Caste Madhu Jha
  24. 18. Gandhi: Swaraj and Satyagraha Himanshu Roy
  25. 19. Jinnah: In Search of Political Power Dinesh Kumar Singh
  26. 20. Savarkar: Hindutva and Critique of Caste System Sangit Kumar Ragi
  27. 21. Nehru: Ideas of Development Himanshu Roy
  28. 22. M.N. Roy: Twentieth-Century Renaissance Dinesh Kumar Singh and A.P.S. Chouhan
  29. 23. Periyar: Radical Liberalism Niraj Kumar Jha and A.P.S. Chouhan
  30. 24. Ambedkar: Constitutionalism and State Structure Mahendra Prasad Singh
  31. 25. Ambedkar: Democracy and Economic Theory N. Sukumar
  32. 26. Lohia: Democracy Sanjay Kumar
  33. 27. Jayaprakash Narayan: Marxism, Democratic Socialism and Gandhism Mahendra Prasad Singh and Himanshu Roy
  34. Conclusion Himanshu Roy
  35. About the Editors and Contributors
  36. Index
  37. Copyright

Product information

  • Title: Indian Political Thought, 2nd Edition
  • Author(s): Mahendra Singh, Himanshu Roy
  • Release date: July 2017
  • Publisher(s): Pearson India
  • ISBN: 9789352861828