Chapter 15

1. The Persian Gulf countries are Bahrain, Iran, Iraq, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates.

2. At the time of India’s independence, among the Persian Gulf countries, only Saudi Arabia, Iraq and Iran existed as sovereign states. The Sultanate of Oman, in its present shape, came into being in the 1950s. Kuwait became sovereign in 1962; Bahrain, Qatar and the United Arab Emirates in 1971.

3. See


5. http://www.contrystudies.india/middleeast.htm

6. See Sandy Gordon, India’s Rise to Power in the Twentieth Century and Beyond (London: Macmillan, 1995), p. 282.

7. Pakistan was largely successful in cornering India in her ...

Get India's Foreign Policy now with O’Reilly online learning.

O’Reilly members experience live online training, plus books, videos, and digital content from 200+ publishers.