WAN Technologies

Transmission facilities used to construct the WAN present the richest array of options for the network planner. These facilities come in optic cabling and can support numerous framing formats.

Transmission facilities also vary greatly in the manner in which they provide connections. There are four primary types of facilities:

  • Dedicated, or leased, lines

  • Circuit switched

  • Packet switched

  • Cell switched

These four types encompass all versions of facilities although technological innovation may be blurring their boundaries somewhat. The following sections briefly describe these technologies.

Leased Lines

The leased line is the most robust and flexible of the circuit- switched transmission facilities. These circuits are called leased ...

Get IP Routing Fundamentals now with the O’Reilly learning platform.

O’Reilly members experience live online training, plus books, videos, and digital content from nearly 200 publishers.